Minutes of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held on Monday, the 11th of February 2013 in the South West Community Centre, 171 Sturt Street, Adelaide.

President Lynn Venning welcomed members and opened the meeting at 2:00 P.M.

APOLOGIES: - Max Lambert & B. (Paddy) O'Brien.


1. Minutes from the previous general meeting held on Monday the 19th of November 2012 were accepted at the executive meeting and copies are available from the table. Minutes from the previous Annual General Meeting held on the 20th of February 2012 were approved at the Executive Meeting held on the 5th of March 2012 and were available at the General Meeting held on the same day.

2. President L. Venning gave his Annual Report. Members were thanked for their continuing support of the club. In addition, Leo Vandenberg was thanked for his continued good work as Secretary and Treasurer. John Dowe & Max Kernich were also thanked for their support on the committee. Jack Strapps was thanked for his work as club auditor. Barry Stroud was thanked for stepping in when John was away and conducting the raffle. A request for more members to volunteers to fill vacant committee positions was also made. Barry Stroud and Bruce Killmier were thanked for volunteering to become Committee Members for the forthcoming year.

3. Secretary Leo Vandenberg read his report to the members.

4. The Treasurers report was read to members. Club Auditor Jack Strapps has certified the financial statement as correct.

5. In the absence of any nominations from the floor the existing Committee Members agreed to remain in their current positions. Lynn Venning as President (& Minute Secretary), Leo Vandenberg as Secretary/Treasurer, John Dowe as Junior Vice President. Barry Stroud and Bruce Killmier as a Committee Members.

6. The next meeting is scheduled for Monday the 25th of February 2013. A DVD/video will be shown.

7. Annual remuneration for the Secretary/Treasurer of $100.00 was approved at the Executive Meeting.

8. The Annual Christmas Luncheon is scheduled for Monday the 9th of December. Cost to be advised. Due to the low state of club finances members were agreeable that the member contribution this year may have to be increased to approx $45. Cost to be re-evaluated later in the year, once a price is known for the luncheon.

9. Lynn Venning and Jack Strapps both attended the funeral of Ron Grant on the 6th of December 2012. Ron was a past President, Secretary, and   Treasurer of the club at various times.

10. John Morcom was asked to draw the first Raffle Ticket.

Over 80’s Birthdays:-

Wimmer       Herbert 01 Jan 1923 Corridor Conductor Keswick Keswick 90

Michalanney Tom     16 Jan 1922 Senior Loco Inspector        Islington 91

Pointon       Bruce    22 Jan 1931 Fireman                          Adelaide 82

Lambert      Max      28 Jan 1930 Rail Car Driver                 Gawler    83

Morcom       John     01 Feb 1920 Train Controller               Adelaide 93

Forster       Len       03 Feb 1929 Yard Master                     Mile End 84

Rau           George   06 Feb 1928 Lifter Truck Yard              Islington 85

Van Velsen George   09 Feb 1929 Yard Supervisor              Dry Creek 84

Members then wished John Morcom, who was present at the meeting, a very happy birthday.

The following member deaths were reported

Grant   Ron     30 Nov 2012 Secretary Railways Institute                95

Szulin   Wasyl 06 Dec 2012 Shunter                              Dry Creek 88

Burford Keith 15 Dec 2013 Chief Staff Officer                                99

Farrant Ron   03 Feb 2013 Ticket Examiner                                   93

Members stood in silence for one minute in memory of our departed members and friends.

The members were thanked for their attendance and the Meeting was closed at 2:30 P.M.

There were 19 members present. Raffle proceeds after door prizes were $32.00

Back to Program


Make a Free Website with Yola.